New Standards Published by Rebreather Training Council

The Rebreather Training Council (RTC) is the body representing training agencies providing courses for divers using rebreathers. In the last two years, the RTC has published training standards for recreational and technical rebreather divers.

Now, the RTC has published two further standards delineating two further stages in a diver’s development, both advanced technical diving levels.

The two new standards are:

RTC Technical Rebreather Diver Level 2

RTC Technical Rebreather Diver Level 3

These two standards train divers in the use of mixes containing helium to a maximum depth of 60 metres and 100 metres respectively. The member bodies of the RTC can specify that a course in their own system equates to one of these standards, in which case they are confirming that their course at least meets the minimum requirements of this level. The PADI Tec 60 CCR and Tec 100 CCR courses meet the requirements of these standards.

The full range of RTC standards is as follows with the PADI TecRec matching courses:

RTC Recreational Rebreather Diver Level 1 – PADI Advanced Rebreather Diver

RTC Technical Rebreather Diver Level 1 – Tec 40 CCR

RTC Technical Rebreather Diver Level 2 – Tec 60 CCR

RTC Technical Rebreather Diver Level 3 – Tec 100 CCR

All the RTC standards can be downloaded for free from here.


%d bloggers like this: